Dear Members of the Temple Aliyah Community,
We are writing to update you on our Planning and Vision project, which will move Temple Aliyah into the future.
This is your synagogue and we want your input.We want to listen to your ideas and to understand what is important to you.  If you would like to become more involved in this process, please contact us. There will be many opportunities to get involved in the coming months.
First, there will be a series of Community Conversations this Summer. These are small group discussions, often in private homes, with someone present to facilitate the session.  Please contact any member of the Steering Committee, identified below, or any Temple Aliyah clergy or senior staff members, if you would like to attend or host one of these events.
Second, you will soon receive an email invitation to complete an online Congregational Survey [CLICK HERE TO TAKE THE SURVEY], which will take you just a few minutes to fill out on your computer or mobile device.  This survey will provide us with very valuable information.  Accordingly, when you get an email with the link to the survey, PLEASE make the time to provide us with your candid feedback.
We would also like to let you know of a couple of changes to the committee. The new Co-Chairs of the Steering Committee for our Planning and Vision Project are Beth Saltz and Rick Shumacher.  Julie Davine, one of the original Co-Chairs of the Committee, is now serving as President of Temple Aliyah.  The Steering Committee members include Rich Abronson, Adrienne Crane-Ross, Josh Davis, Judy Fischer, Bob Green, Robyn Kodish Brill, Ken Krainman, Tina Orkin, Sina Razbannia, Pam Ross, Larry Schnaid, and Jack Sholkoff.  Lesley Plachta serves as a Liaison from the Board of Directors.  Rabbi Vogel, Rabbi Goldstein, David Brook, and all of the clergy and senior staff will work closely with the Steering Committee to create this forward looking plan for the community.
We will continue to keep you informed with periodic updates.  Please contact us or any Steering Committee members if you want to get involved, or have any questions or suggestions.
Thank you very much for your support.
Julie Davine 
Beth Saltz
Rick Shumacher
  • Woolsey Fire Update

    Woolsey Fire Update (11/16/18, 1:15pm):
    Temple Aliyah is OPEN! Services, ECE and SCJLL classes will proceed as usual.

    Emergency Housing
    If you are still out of your home and need a place to stay, we have dozens of members still offering shelter.

    If you are in need of a home to go to please email akraus@templealiyah.org or call (757)716-8184 at any point.

    Click here for more information and support for evacuees.
  • Calendar of Events

  • Shabbat & Holiday Services

    Friday, November 16, 2018

    • 8:00 PM - Every Third Shabbat: African

    Saturday, November 17, 2018

    • 9:15 AM - Shabbat Morning Service
    • Aufruf of Ellen Fleishman & Marc Silvers
    • 1:00 PM - Poetry in Motion with Rabbi Peretz

    Sunday, November 18, 2018

    • 9:00 AM - Tallit & Tefillin Minyan
  • Parasha & Candle Lighting